Refunds & Tranfers

Back to Info

No Refunds or Deferrals

Unfortunately, the GranFondo cannot offer refunds or deferrals to following years for those unable to attend the event. We do however, allow transfers between two parties for a fee, starting in mid-summer and ending approximately one week prior to the GranFondo.

Transfer Dates, Deadlines, and Rules

Registration transfers are $25 ($15 for Piccolo) until Sept 27th, midnight.  We cannot accommodate any transfers the week prior to the event as we’ll be finalizing registration, assigning numbers, and stuffing packets in advance of the big event.  No same day transfers during packet pickup for any reason.

No transfer can exceed the original cost of the ride purchased, i.e. no Gran route can be sold from one participant to another for more than $160. Any transfer exceeding the amount for the route in question will not be honored. Transfers only apply to your ride. That means that merchandise you may have purchased (ie. a jersey) does not transfer.  We do not handle any money transfer of the original entry fee. That is up to the two individuals to work out. Many choose to use services such as PayPal to do this.

Anyone looking to secure a transfer can do so through a variety of means, the most promising being our Facebook page. Hundreds of people have secured transfers there happily and painlessly. If you avoid social media like the plague, you can check craigslist.org or ebay.com for people looking for transfers.

TRANSFERS: Transfers take place when a person who was not registered acquires the spot of someone who is registered. The person buying the spot must be the one filling out the transfer form.  There is important participant information that you need to acknowledge prior to completing your registration for the event regarding logistics and rider safety.  Information you will need to complete the transfer would include the original rider’s name, original rider’s email and the 9-digit registration ID from the original rider’s registration confirmation.  If you need this information sent to you again, please contact registration@bikemonkey.net.

PANZER TRANSFERS: Panzer transfers can only be transferred to someone who qualifies for the Panzer route.  To qualify for the Panzer route, the individual must have completed a previous year’s Levi’s GranFondo route in under 7.5 hrs.  This is elapsed time, not pedaling.  You must be able to provide a link to either the posted results to your qualifying time, or a Strava link of that ride.  Email your qualifying time/proof to registration@bikemonkey.net.  Once it has been determined that you qualify, you will be given an access code in which to complete the transfer from.

SWAPS: A swap is when two people are already registered for different routes and want to switch with each other. Either party may fill out the form, but generally it is the person who is upgrading that would fill out the form and pay the fee.  Information that you will need to complete a swap is BOTH original Riders’ Names, Original Riders’ Emails and the 9 digit Registration IDs from the Original Riders’ registration confirmations.

DOWNGRADING:  You can always ride a shorter route than the one for which you are registered.  If you know that you are going to ride a shorter route ahead of time and would like us to officially move you to that route, then email registration@bikemonkey.net with your full name and the 9 digit Registration ID from your registration confirmation along with the route you would like to ride and we will be happy to change it for you.

SELF-UPGRADING: There is no “self-upgrading” your existing registration to a longer route (Piccolo to Medio, Medio to Gran, etc.) If the route is sold out already, see TRANSFERS or SWAPS above.  If the route is not sold out, contact registration@bikemonkey.net.

RE-TRANSFERRING: Got lucky and found a transfer, then your wife told you you had a wedding to attend that day? Follow the same transfer procedure as normal but use the Registration ID and information of the person who currently has the entry.  DO NOT enter the person’s information who had it originally.